Exercising Our Creative Writing Muscles – The Next Step

For all you writers out there….stop saying, “I’m a ‘wannabe’ writer.”  If you ever write anything….you’re a writer. Are we all published?  No.  Are we all making a living with our writing?  No.  Is money the point?  Well…..sometimes.  But in this case, write what is true to your heart and to your experience and let it find its own market.

Today’s writing exercise is to take just one of the beginning lines from yesterday’s assignment and write 100 words beginning with that sentence.  Just 100 words.  It’s easy…try it and you’ll see.  If you write more than that today, then GREAT!

By the way….the words before THIS sentence add up to 101 words.

For many writers the hard part is beginning…there is so much to learn and so much that can be done, that we let the possibilities overwhelm us.  So for today, take your favorite beginning line from those you wrote yesterday and begin to write that story.  Ask yourself, “If I were reading this story, where would I want it to go?” …..and take it there.  Allow your characters to be who they are….let them have full personalities…and remember that they may have some flaws.  Fill in the blanks with descriptions so that your readers can “see” what you see in your head.  And don’t worry about perfection.  Remember, editing will come later.  For today just get started.

I am on this journey with you and as I share what I am learning about writing, I would love to hear from you about your personal journey as a writer.  I write children’s books, and your writing may be much more intellectual or sophisticated than mine, but the steps are the same.

So get in position.  Extend your fingers over the keyboard.  Turn off the television…..now WRITE!

2 responses to “Exercising Our Creative Writing Muscles – The Next Step

  1. Hi.
    i just googled “blogs for beginning writers” and your blog popped up.
    i like what I see so far.
    i have just begun writing from my own experience and am really enjoying it.
    i would like to check back here to this blog and see what other exercises you have for people.

    Thanks,
    John Wilson

    • Janet Sikes Anderson

      John,
      I’ll admit that I’ve been floundering lately. I have several drafts written, but didn’t know where to go next to achieve my goals. Self-publishing is an option, but, like most writers, I’m not great at self-editing. I wanted to give myself the safety net of that “approval” from someone in the business. Read my next blog to see what finally helped me break through the cycle of always writing, but never submitting!

Leave a comment